St. Thomas marked its 130th year as a city with its 3rd Annual Doors Open Sat Oct 1 & Sun Oct 2. Sixteen sites showed off their unique contributions to life in the province and the city. See photos and slides below from just some of the participants.
The art deco style building which now houses Elgin County administration offices and Elgin County Museum was completed in 1939 as the nurse's residence for the provincial psychiatric hospital located directly across the road.
Canadian Woodenware, founded about 1916, still manufactures washboards, along with wood trellises, planters, bird feeders and other garden accessories.
St. Thomas City Hall was constructed in 1898-99 according to plans prepared by Neil Darrach, a noted Canadian architect.
The former Public Utilities Commission substation built in 1912; the main foyer and manager’s office, with its electric fireplace, were on view for Doors Open.
The St. Thomas-Elgin Public Art Centre has amassed a collection of 900 works of art by local, regional, national and international artists. During Doors Open, visitors could view the current exhibits, an Eric Atkinson retrospective in the Main Gallery and Stanley Lewis prints in the Timken Foundation Gallery, see the behind the scenes storage, and hear an Artist Talk with Eric Atkinson on Sunday.
C.E. Flexen (The Motorman) was built for the Flexen Company in the 1930s. Two generations of the family repaired machinery for St. Thomas industries and households and businesses. Now called The Motorman, the company continues the tradition of repairs, mainly to electric motors.
Find out more about Mark Girdauskas wedding, family and corporate photos at photosbymg.com.